stack of books from 1950s and '60sI stopped by a couple of thrift stores on my way home from work today.  While browsing through books, I came across a few that were published in the ’50s and ’60s.  The images are wonderful and will make great notecard embellishments.

I hate the idea of cutting up a book, but at the same time, pulling out the images to highlight in handmade notecards will allow more people to enjoy them.  I may not be able to bring myself to cut up the Emily Post Book of Etiquette for Young People, published in 1967…it’s just too funny!

The other books include two volumes of “The Book of Popular Science” from the ’60s, a dictionary from 1957 with tiny illustrations accompanying some of the entries, and a 1954 “Architectural Graphic Standards” with layouts of everything from brickwork to chairs to vending machine diagrams.  Look for new items in my Etsy shop soon!

